Call for UK Government to implement Hargreaves proposal on IP framework


Professor Sophia Ananiadou, Director of NaCTeM, today co-signed a letter calling on the UK Government to implement recommendations of the Hargreaves Independent Review of IP and Growth.

The letter, published in the Daily Telegraph,advocates the case for exceptions in copyright law, and notes that:
"The argument for an exception for text and data mining (extraction of data fragments by computers to establish a scientific fact) to speed up scientific and medical discovery is compelling".


Sir Mark Walport (Director, Wellcome Trust), Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell (President and Vice-Chancellor, University of Manchester), Dame Lynne Brindley (Chief Executive, The British Library), Nicola Dandridge (Chief Executive, Universities UK), Sir Nicholas Serota (Director, Tate), Dr Malcolm Read (Executive Secretary, Joint Information Services Committee), Professor Sir Timothy O'Shea (Principal, University of Edinburgh), Professor Malcolm Grant (President and Provost, University College London), Jon F Baldwin (Registrar, University of Warwick), Professor Martin Hall (Vice-Chancellor, University of Salford), Professor William Dutton (Director, Oxford Internet Institute, University of Oxford), Professor Sophia Ananiadou (Director, National Centre for Text Mining), Dr Tim Hubbard (Head of Informatics, Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute), Greg Hill (Vice-Chair Managers' Group, National Education Network), Tim Marshall (Chief Executive Officer, JANET), Dr Michael Jubb (Director, Research Information Network), Beth McKillop (Acting Director, Victoria and Albert Museum), Martyn Wade (National Librarian and Chief Executive, National Library of Scotland), Andrew Green (The Librarian, The National Library of Wales), Elaine Fulton (Director, Scottish Library and Information Council / Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals in Scotland), Dr David C. Prosser (Executive Director, Research Libraries UK) and Ann Rossiter (Executive Director, Society of College, National and University Libraries)

Previous itemNext item
Back to news summary page